Posted by: martinworster | August 10, 2006

19. EATS POOPS AND LEAVES

Prams, strollers, diapers, nappies – I’m going potty 

I’ve been having a lot of fun with the UK / US differences in vocabulary, especially with regard to baby products. Consider my recent fora to Babies R Us:

‘I’d like to see your prams, please?’
‘Pram, what’s that?’
‘Pram, something you push a baby in.’
‘A stroller?’
‘No, we call it a pram, where are your prams? Also nappies,
where can I find them?
‘Nappy, what’s that?’
‘Something a baby shits and pisses in.’
‘A potty?’
‘Yes, you’re driving me potty. So you have potties? I’m glad we have
one word the same for something.’

Leave a Reply

Categories

